A field of 28 players convened at Blankney Golf Club on Tuesday 27th September for the Annual RAF Waddington Station Golf Championships.

Once again this prestigious event was kindly sponsored by both AAR and Northrop Grumman. Fortunately, and for the first time in many years, the weather conditions were fantastic, with the sunshine forcing the players in to shorts and shades. In order to cater for both high and low handicap golfers, it was decided that this year’s competition would involve both a Stroke Play and a Stableford format. In addition, there were separate Nearest the pin and longest drive prizes up for grabs within each competition.

Following registration, coffee and a bacon roll, the players set off for their first 18 holes of the day. As expected, the fine weather conditions proved for some excellent morning scores. Within the Stroke Play competition, of particular note were the performances of Iain Baxter who shot a Net 73 (80 Gross), Simon Kay with a Net 71 (82 Gross) and Oggy Compton who also shot a Net 71 (Gross 73). Unfortunately, the nearest the pin competition for the morning round had to be repeated in the afternoon round as none of the lower handicappers were able to even hit the green! Within the Stableford competition, Chris Maggs of AAR scored 37 points along with F.Binning. However, Mark Porter was leading the way following an impressive 39 points. The nearest the pin competition for the Stableford competition was won by Steve Bleazard.

After a light lunch of soup and sandwiches and some heavy banter from the scorers, the players set off for their afternoon rounds. Despite a stronger wind in the afternoon, it did not have a massive impact on the scores, which were yet again pretty impressive. Iain Baxter carded an improved afternoon Net score of 70 (Gross 77), Kev O’Rourke came in with a Net 69 (Gross 77) and Oggy Compton continued in his rich vein of form with a Net 67 (Gross 69). The nearest the pin competition was finally won by Matt Kirby and the Longest drive was won by Iain Baxter. In the Stableford competition, both Chris Maggs and Mark Porter came in with 38 points, however, they were overshadowed by Mark Haysom, who came in with 43 points! The Longest drive competition was won by Simon Dachtler.

On completion of the afternoon round, the golfers were provided with an excellent meal provided by Blankney Golf Club, and took the opportunity replace lost fluids at the bar. This allowed the scorers some time to check the final standings. Officer Commanding Operations, Wing Commander Donoghue, kindly attended the prize giving on behalf of the Station Commander. In the Stableford competition, Mark Haysom was declared the winner, with a total of 79 points over 36 holes. In the Stroke play competition, Oggy Compton was declared the winner, and Station Champion for 2011, with a total Net score of 138 (Gross 142) over the 2 rounds. A total of 15 prizes were presented.

In summary, this year’s Station Golf Championships were a huge success, with the new format proving very popular. I would like to thank Blankney Golf Club for proving excellent hosts and for their continued support for golf at RAF Waddington. I would also like to thank the Station Golf Team Committee for all their hard work. In particular Chief Technician Tony Jones, Senior Aircraftman Tom Howells and Flight Sergeant Ian Ridley, whose efforts in particular enabled the Committee to put on such an event.

By FS Jason Dark

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.