Morris Shield Champions

raf-rugbyAfter a spirited and hard fought campaign the RAF Waddington Rugby team have been crowned the RAF Warrington Morris Shield Champions.

The Waddington Hornets produced a fantastic run of results to reach the final which included a titanic 40-20 derby win against Coningsby in the quarters, followed by a convincing 38-5 semi final triumph over Boulmer, earning a place in the final against the West London Barbarians.

Following a bruising closely contested first half which saw the Barbarians come out on top at the stomping ground of RAF Halton, the Hornets came out fighting in the second half producing a great 18-20 comeback to snatch victory from the Barbarians.

The Barbarians had looked on course to seal victory after capitalising on the Hornets errors but two tries from man of the match Colin Witham and a late try from Clint Simpson converted by Loz Philips sealed the win for the Waddington Hornets.

The rugby team will now look to pulling off a cross code double replicating success in the rugby league season which is upon us. And as always new faces are very welcome.

Meet the winning Team.

  1. Mr Martin Wallhead – General Engineering Flight
  2. Corporal Graham ‘Benny’ Hill – 14 Squadron
  3. Corporal Colin ‘Witty’ Witham – (was) 8 Squadron
  4. Flying Officer Andy Green – Operations
  5. Senior Aircraftsman Mark Gillam – Fire
  6. Flight Lieutenant Clint Simpson – Air Warfare Centre
  7. Master Aircrew Ian Woolley – Operations
  8. Chief Technician Greg Mayhew – 8 Squadron
  9. Corporal John Turner – 8 Squadron
  10. Senior Aircraftsman Tom White – 8 Force Protection Wing
  11. Senior Aircraftsman Martin Cooper – 8 Squadron
  12. Senior Aircraftsman Steve Parker – Fire
  13. Sergeant Stu Atkinson, (Army) – Air Warfare Centre
  14. Senior Aircraftsman ‘Eddie’ Irvine – 1 ACC, RAF Scampton
  15. Corporal ‘Loz’ Phillips – RAF Scampton, Physical Education Flight
  16. Senior Aircraftsman Adrian Beverley – Logistics Squadron
  17. Senior Aircraftsman Dave McInnon – 5 (AC) Squadron
  18. Sergeant Kieron Arnold – Air Warfare Centre
  19. Corporal Steve Potter – General Engineering Flight
  20. Corporal Simon Barker – General Engineering Flight
  21. Senior Aircraftsman Martin ‘Pip’ Bowen – General Engineering Flight
  22. Senior Aircraftsman Adam ‘Padre’ Graves – 8 Squadron


Coach – Chief Technician Martin Kenworthy – General Engineering Flight

Team Manager – Sergeant Steve Hargreaves – Fire


Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.